• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1 other follower

  • May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr    
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Kindle, Nook, Paperback Book?

I love to read.  I don’t mean that in the way people say they love french fries, Desperate Housewives, or cute puppies.  I mean, I absolutely love to read any chance I get.  I’ll read anything I can get my hands on.  If I can’t get my hands on something, I’ll start reading billboards, license plates, bumper stickers; you get the idea.  Mostly, though, I love paperbacks.  I’ll buy a hardcover in a pinch, but I prefer the pliancy of a paperback.  Bibliophiles stop now!  I’m about to traumatize you.  I love breaking the spine of a new paperback.  I love to fold the book back over on itself so I can hold it in one hand.  I love how I can shove a paperback into my bag and not worry that it’ll get ruined.  So far, the only thing that has really threatened my paperbacks at all is the bath-tub.  I hardly ever read in there anymore because it’s just not comfortable for me to try to keep the book from submerging along with me.

I am also a major techno-geek.  (not to be mistaken for nerd, pleasethankyou!)  I love gadgets and technology.  While others are stressing about the lack of privacy online I am cheering for full steam ahead on the techno-train.  How can you not love how far we’ve come technologically?  We can shop, watch TV, play games, and talk to our friends, all at the same time and without ever leaving our bed. (if that’s your thing, and it happens to be mine)

So with the advent of the e-reader, I’m undecided.  Do I take the plunge and move forward with my techno-geeky side so that I can get any book I want within 60 seconds (as long as I have a wi-fi connection)?  Or will the hard, glossy plastic alienate me and force me to have yet another piece of electronic equipment that sits around my house collecting dust?  One of the things that bothers me about the e-readers is they look inherently uncomfortable to hold.  They have no give.  No way for my fingers and hands to mold themselves to what I’m reading.  I imagine it’s like trying to read a DVD cover… Uncomfortable and uninviting, but necessary to find out what the movie is all about.

Then there is the cost.  With a spectacularly low-paying job in D.C., which sucks me dry of money just on the daily commute and lunch, I have to spend wisely.  I have two kids in daycare, one of whom is in diapers.  Those things don’t come cheap. Besides that, my husband and I would eventually like to buy our own house and I still have yet to replace my Jeep, which died traitorously on the Beltway. I admit, I’m leery of dumping $260 on a device I may not even like.

There is also the issue of upgrades.  Every time I buy some new gadget or computer, a better one comes out the very next day.  As a techno-geek I am aware that is just the nature of the beast.  But I try to keep my depression over obsolescence to a minimum. If a brand new, better Kindle (or Nook) came out the day after I bought mine, I’d be crushed.   The knowledge that just one day stood between me and a better gadget would be too much to bear.  (Ok, really, it’s not that dramatic, but for a day or two it’ll feel like it is.)

So do I save up some money and take the plunge?  Or do I stick with my well-loved, well-worn, and much cheaper paperbacks?

I’m torn.

3 Responses

  1. Remember my little trick with the Instead-of Jar?

    Carry your lunch and coffee for a few weeks. The money you’d otherwise blow at Panera or Starbucks or wherever goes into the jar. All spare change you have at the end of the day goes in there. (Don’t pick up spare change you find around the Metro. You don’t know where it’s been. *grin*).

    You will be impressed with the results.

    BTW, an occasional visit to Starbucks or a once-in-a-while lunch out with your friends won’t kill you. Life is to be lived, after all. It’s just the overall trend you keep an eye on.

    In the meantime, paperbacks are comforting.

    I’m looking seriously at a Kindle because of my lack of storage space aboard. That, and I’m a closet techno-geek. 😀

    • Oh I’m already on top of that! I don’t go to Starbucks more than once a week these days. And most of my meals are brown-bagged. Although I admit sometimes I do go downstairs to the deli to get lunch. 😀

      Great idea on carrying my coffee with me, though. I really do need to start getting coffee ready at home. It’ll taste better and be cheaper than getting it at the shop.

      Breakfast is my biggest obstacle. I still need to figure out the best way to do that without spending a lot of cash.

      I totally agree about paperbacks being comforting. I love my books. I adore them. I may beat the hell out of my books, but I keep them forever, until they’re falling apart. I have 3 copies of The Stand right now because I can’t bear to part with the one whose front cover fell off and is missing page 13. It’s sad.

      Thank you so much for the ideas! I’ll start putting money away now and see where I am in a month or so. 🙂

  2. Stick to the paperbacks! While I think it would be GREAT to just download a book instantly, instead of lugging two kids with me to a bookstore, there really isn’t anything to replace the feel of curling a book in half while you lay in bed, trying not to fall asleep while reading.

Leave a Reply

